Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Classic Ballparks

On this date three venerable stadiums hosted their first major league baseball games:

Tiger Stadium: 1912
Fenway Park: 1912
Wrigley Field: 1916*

Tiger Stadium (originally called Navin Field)

Fenway Park

Wrigley Field (originally called Weeghman Park)

*In 1914 and 1915, the Chicago Whales of the Federal League (recognized as a major league) played at the stadium now called Wrigley Field. April 20, 1916 is the first day the Chicago Cubs played at Wrigley. 

No comments:

Post a Comment